Hanky Panky

27 Oct

I love vintage stuff AND I love jewelry AND I love stuff with my name on it. However it’s sooooo rare that I find ALL THREE at once.  But I do have THIS!

My mother’s name is Karlene also, she is Karlene Gladys, and I am Karlene May. I love this brooch. My mom got one for her and one for my grandmother in the 70’s. She gave it to me a couple of years ago and it really is my favorite piece of jewelry.

Speaking of Grandma Bush here are some of her hankies my mom gave me.

The top left hand corner is my favorite. These are fairly old. I’m not sure of the exact age but my grandmother did pass away almost 30 years ago.  I miss her a bunch.

15 Responses to “Hanky Panky”

  1. Desiree October 27, 2011 at 2:32 am #

    Thank you so much for your kind words hon, I’m so touched:))). You are so lucky to have a vintage brooch with your name on it – I don’t think I’ll ever find one with my name. The hankies are adorable, I’d love to see a bigger pic so I can have a real gander at the beautiful details:)) xo

  2. Nelly October 27, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    How wonderful to have some of grans things still

  3. Vix October 27, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    What wonderful things to own. That brooch is incredible. x

  4. Dora October 27, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

    What a lucky biatch! never found any hankies with my name on it.
    brooch is gorgeous,I never knew my grannys , but I inherited lots of vintage goodies from Buddy’s nana.

  5. The Rockabilly Girl Next Door October 29, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    I’m glad you liked it, and thank you! 🙂

  6. Victoria October 29, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    I love finding things with my name on but that always seems to happen alongside a picture of Queen Victoria!!!

    Victoria xxx

  7. The Rockabilly Girl Next Door October 30, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    Finding stuff with my name on it is like a waste of time for me,hehe.. I totally agree with you about Dolly Cool, her stuff is the best!!

  8. pastcaring October 30, 2011 at 7:08 pm #

    Lovely brooch, especially with the family connection to make it even more special.
    I rather love old hankies too, though what on earth do you do with them? Apart from leave them in a box? My mum has a load which she has promised me, many of which were my grandma’s, so there’s another drawer filled… Cant say no, though! xxx

    • pinktutu72 October 30, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

      Oh I always like to have a hanky in my purse just in case. The ones I have are pretty delicate but there are one or two that I can use.

  9. Vintage Jane October 31, 2011 at 9:03 am #

    I love your little brooch. I managed to find one with my mum’s name on it last year and gave it to her for Christmas but still looking for one with my name (Marina) in it.
    The hankies are sweet and so much nicer than a crumpled up tissue.
    M x

    • pinktutu72 October 31, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

      Thank you 🙂 I do love having a hanky it seems more ladylike I guess.

  10. Susan November 1, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    we have something in common there, always love personalized/customized items especially with my name on it hehe what a special brooch and hankies, those hankies are beautiful!

    x susan

  11. misfitsvintage November 2, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

    That brooch is just gorgeous – bigger pics please!

    Sarah xxx

  12. Krista Gassib November 4, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

    I love that your have this bit of family history and those hankies are too die for!!!

  13. Sophia November 13, 2011 at 6:25 am #

    WOW! That broach is still beautiful today and the fact that you share that name with her is so sweet. My mom’s name is Rosemary because her mother was Mary, and her grandma, Rose. I’m Rosemary’s baby. Nice to meet you hehe.

Leave a Reply

