I’ve Got Questions Part Deux!

15 Oct

Non blog type question

1. I am looking for a decent cheap sewing machine, could you all recommend one please?

2. Also am looking at the Cath Kidston books (apparently they shove crafting crack in those things.. SO ADDICTIVE) Are they good? Amazon has barely any reviews on them.

There will be more!

14 Responses to “I’ve Got Questions Part Deux!”

  1. Jem @ Beautiful Clutter October 17, 2011 at 12:31 am #

    I only have one of the Cath Kidston books – Tips For Vintage Style – which a friend bought me as a gift and I thought it was quite a lovely read but more of a coffee table type book than crammed with information. I would be intrigued to see the Make and Sew books in person though 🙂

    Jem xXx

    • pinktutu72 October 17, 2011 at 2:54 am #

      Oh I’m glad you mentioned that book! I’ve seen it and was wondering about it. Thanks!

  2. Mimi and Tilly October 17, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    I have the Sew! book by Cath Kidston and love it. It takes you right through the process of making a range of different things. It’s a fab book to work from and to provide inspiration for other ideas.

    • pinktutu72 October 17, 2011 at 11:36 pm #

      I love the Cath Kidston stuff it’s so pretty. I’m going to prob buy the Sew book via Amazon, Thanks 🙂

  3. Vix October 17, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    I use a Toyota machine, it’s really simple and it’s the sewing machine of choice in lots of UK schools.
    Can’t speak of the Cath Kidson stuff but I can highly recommend Eithne Farry’s Yeah, I Made It Myself for vintage-looking creations for the not-very-crafty (like me!). x

    • pinktutu72 October 17, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

      Thanks Vix I’ll def check that book out!

  4. Susan October 18, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    ooooh i’m a Cath Kidston’s fan! i see Jem up there in the comment hehehe she’s a lovely blogger, love her blog! anyways, i’m still trying to learn how to sew and i had an Argos sewing machine for my birthday last sept and still trying to read the manual and hopefully will get the hang off it and start to seriously sew something, bought it for £60 and it’s not bad, 12 types of stitches which i have no idea each of stitches for so i cant help you on that one hehe…as for CK’s books, I have her Sew, Make and Stitch books, love them all and one book coming out or maybe already out which is PATCH, i think for beginner like me, MAKE is the easiest one, it shows you and taught you basic stitches and with free gift as well as templates for each projects in the book. Hope that helps 🙂

    • pinktutu72 October 18, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

      Thanks Susan so much for your response. I’ve seen the outside of the Patch book and it’s really cute. I’m definitely getting Sew! and Stitch.

  5. creativefashionglee October 19, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

    My Oma is going to give a gorgeous sewing machine, but apparently, I got to learn how to sew first. Never learned it int school.

    • pinktutu72 October 19, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

      Oh I didnt either. You’re so lucky, what a wonderful Oma 🙂

  6. scarlett October 19, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

    I have a couple of cath kidston books and i do really like them, however there are loads of fabulous crafting books out at the moment so its worth taking a bit of time to look through them on amazon :o) Scarlett x

    • pinktutu72 October 20, 2011 at 2:33 am #

      Oh yes my wish list on Amazon is HUGE lol. Some of the reviews on some of them are so mixed though

  7. Krista Gassib October 19, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    I have a Hello Kitty Janome machine that I love. Super easy to use I think they are designed for beginners.

    • pinktutu72 October 19, 2011 at 11:39 pm #

      I have seen the HK machine and I am VERY tempted!

Leave a Reply

