Meowmeow

12 Oct

This is Meowmeow. Not a very original name I know, but when dad asked her what her name was.. well you can guess what she said. Meow was 17-18 years old. My parents were adopted by her one day out of the blue.  She would follow my dad around the garage like she was babysitting him.  In the Lockwood house in the mornings we all sit outside in the garage for coffee. Dad gets up at about 5am and goes out and putters around the garage till about 6am then he takes mom her coffee to wake her up so she can get to work on time (mom’s a lunch lady) I usually get up around 6 and go sit and talk to dad.  We would be joined shortly there after by AJ (my brother), Denise (sister in law) and Anthony and Anna (nephew and niece) Before mom comes out Meow would be sitting near dad or I depending on who would pay her the most attention, until about 30 seconds before mom  would come out Meow would move to the part of the counter exactly where mom sits and wait. Mom would always show up shoo Meow off and she(Meow) would walk to across the sink to her bowls on the dryer… for about as long as it took mom to get the paper out and start reading, at which time Meow would promptly walk across the sink and plop her furry behind on the paper and look at mom. This would go on for a while. Mom would grumble and we would all laugh. It was their relationship.

Before my little brother Billy passed away about 4 years ago, he and Meow also had a fun relationship. Billy would pick Meow up and squeeze her a little (like a squeeze toy) and she would meow. My mom would yell at Billy to put her down and he would. But she’d just follow him around till he picked her up again.

She was a fun cat with TONS of personality, if my dad walked across the street she would meow at him till he came back, as if to say “Hey stupid that’s not your home” One time she caught a live bird and brought it to my dad in the garage, I imagine to teach him how to catch it, he let it go. She probably assumed he was the dumbest hairless cat alive and never attempted it again.

Lately Meow had been having seizures, which is never good for a cat. She wouldn’t eat her hard food and she stopped cleaning herself. So we made the appointment to have her put to sleep. We went in today and I held her. She didn’t scratch or hiss, just a couple of meows.  We took her into the room and the Dr gave her the first shot and she fell asleep peacefully. Denise and I stayed in the room with her the whole time, even after the second shot.  There were tears of course, but we know she was miserable. Now she’s in heaven playing with Billy.  I told my mom Billy’s probably squeezing her, and mom said who knows maybe she’s squeezing Billy.

 

 

12 Responses to “Meowmeow”

  1. Krista Gassib October 12, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    Oh honey this is so sad. I loved all the stories you told about Meow meow, she was a part of the family for sure and will be missed greatly. I have never lost a pet yet and I can’t image how much it breaks ones heart. BIG HUGS to you!

    • pinktutu72 October 12, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

      Thank you for your comments. I love your email addy btw Tank Girl is one of my fav movies. We will miss Meow for sure but I’m so glad she’s not suffering. Hugs back 🙂

  2. Krista Gassib October 12, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    Love the pink hair on you too 🙂 Glad it’s bringing you smiles!

  3. Vix October 12, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    I’m so sorry about Meow. It hurts so much to lose a pet. We had our old girl, Lucy Jean put to sleep last year, she suffered those seizures and it was the kindest thing but so hard. Big love to you. x

    • pinktutu72 October 12, 2011 at 11:56 pm #

      It’s so hard to let go but we dont want them to suffer. Thank you for the love it helps 🙂

  4. Sophia October 13, 2011 at 5:21 am #

    Aww RIP to Meow. Glad to know a cat was loved so much though.

  5. Mimi and Tilly October 15, 2011 at 10:04 am #

    I’m so sorry for your loss. Saying goodbye to Miaowmiaow must be so hard, she sounds fantastic. Em xx

    • pinktutu72 October 15, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

      She was a neat kitty thank you 🙂

  6. Dora October 15, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    Amorcito,
    I had not seen this post,I am sorry huni. about your brother too.
    I understand how you feel. I recently lost our family pittbull we had him since he was a baby. the hardest part I was back in Cali when it happened. I am still mouring him and I got a spirit visit from him.I’m sure Meow lady is with your brother laughing it up.
    besitos

    • pinktutu72 October 16, 2011 at 12:09 am #

      Gracias 🙂 I truly believe our pets go to heaven too.

  7. Jolanda October 22, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    Ow sweety I am so sorry for you that have to miss your brother and Meowmeow.
    But it was nice to read that meowmeow had a great live.
    x

Leave a Reply

